Girls Inc. of Metropolitan Dallas Welcomes New Board Member and Executive Officers for FY23


New leadership is poised to guide the organization to achieve ambitious growth goals

August 3, 2022 ­— Girls Inc. of Metropolitan Dallas is pleased to welcome a new member of the Board of Directors and announce the Executive Officers for the fiscal year 2023. The board and newly elected officers will help the organization reach the ambitious goal of expanding Girls Inc. services to 25,000 Dallas County Girls by the end of this decade.

Girls Inc.’s mission is to inspire all girls to be strong, smart, and bold. The organization serves girls in Dallas County between the ages of 6 and 18, from mostly low-income households, and who reflect the diversity of the Dallas community. Girls receive research-based programming from trained and dedicated staff with the overall objectives of improving girls’ economic mobility, preventing teen pregnancy, and changing the face of STEM fields.   

At its June meeting, the Girls Inc. of Metropolitan Dallas Board of Directors approved the addition of Shannon Meyers. The Board also elected officers. Arjun Dugal will continue serving as the Chairman of the Board in the second year of his two-year term. Jamie Lavin was elected to serve as Treasurer, Phil Dayalu to serve as Corporate Secretary, and Stephanie Zapata Moore to serve as Chair-Elect. Finally, Amy Stewart was appointed to Chair the Nominating and Governance committee.

Girls Inc. CEO, Beth Myers said, “We are excited to welcome Shannon to the board. She brings deep expertise in strategic leadership and organizational development. With the addition of Shannon, a strong board of 18 more returning members, and the leadership of our new executive team, I am more confident than ever that we will achieve our ambitious growth goals.”

Shannon Meyers

Shannon Meyers: Shannon is a Senior Managing Director in CBRE’s GWS Healthcare Sector. She leads the delivery of diverse, integrated services to healthcare institutions in the Central and East US. She is a member of the CBRE Women’s Network and a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin.

Arjun Gugal

Chair, Arjun Dugal: Arjun is the EVP and CTO of Financial Services at Capital One. He grew up in India and completed an undergraduate degree in electronics engineering there at Pune University. He holds a master’s degree in management and operations from Harvard University.

Jamie Lavin

Treasurer, Jamie Lavin: Jamie is a Managing Director and Head of Advice and Advisor Experience with JP Morgan Private Bank. She leads the integration of the firm’s thought leadership to address clients’ needs for planning, investing, borrowing and banking. Jamie is a graduate of Boston College.

Phil Dayalu

Corporate Secretary, Phil Dayalu: Phil is the Senior Vice President and Product Area Leader of Client Engagement Platforms for Fidelity Investments. He leads the creation of digital platforms and capabilities. Phil is a Certified Scrum Master and is an active community advocate, serving on Boards for several nonprofits.

Chair-Elect, Stephanie Zapata Moore:  Stephanie is the Executive Vice President, General Counsel, and Chief Compliance Officer for Vistra Energy. She is a graduate of Duke University and holds her Juris Doctor degree from the William and Mary School of Law.

Nominating & Governance Committee Chair, Amy Stewart:  Amy is the founding partner at Stewart Law Group PLLC. Her areas of practice include labor and employment litigation, commercial litigation, and product liability. She received her undergraduate degree from Wake Forest University and her Juris Doctor from the University of Missouri – Columbia School of Law.